Skip to main content

Millis/Medway - Local Town Pages

Medway High School’s National Honor Society Welcomes a Record 72 Inductees

Principal John Murray is pleased to announce that 72 Medway High School students were inducted into the National Honor Society (NHS) at a ceremony on Monday, Nov. 22. 
At the ceremony, Superintendent Armand Pires, Principal Murray, NHS Faculty Adviser Andrew Nassiff and NHS President Carter Pomponio delivered speeches. The theme of this year’s ceremony, which was chosen by NHS officers, was resurgence and revival.
A video created by the current members was shown, titled “The Resurgence of Opportunity.” The new inductees then participated in the candle-lighting ceremony.
NHS recognizes students who show outstanding qualities in scholarship, character, leadership and community service. Medway High School juniors and seniors with a 5.6, out of 7.0, weighted GPA are eligible for induction.
Candidates write two essays, one detailing their leadership experience and one detailing their dedication to community service, and must acquire three character references from teachers or community leaders. Candidates submit their portfolio to a Faculty Council, which then selects students who meet the standards of character, leadership and service established by the NHS.
Once Medway students are inducted into the society, they are required to perform 18 hours of community service each semester.
Last year, though community service opportunities were limited due to the COVID-19 pandemic, members responded to the challenge by finding new ways to help others. The high school and middle school tutoring programs were expanded to include the use of remote video conferencing technology. The Coats for Kids drive brought in the most coats per capita of any school in Massachusetts for the second year in a row, surpassing the total from the previous year. Once it was deemed safe by the state to hold live events, a concert was held that acted not only as a fundraiser for NHS but as a way to provide some semblance of normalcy to the school year for all students.
Medway’s NHS chapter also put on its own Clean Sweep event to clean up the roads and trails near the high school, as well as raised money for charities Hope and Comfort, Cradles to Crayons and Pennies for Patients.
“Those inducted into the National Honor Society are recognized for their commitment to academics and community service,” Principal Murray said. “I would like to congratulate our latest round of inductees, a record-breaking number for our chapter, and I look forward to watching them grow as leaders and develop new skills as members of the organization.”
With the addition of the 2021 inductees, Medway NHS now has a total of 118 members, another record for the chapter.
The 2021 Medway National Honor Society inductees are as follows:
Class of 2022
Katie Bomfim
Matthew Bullard
Emily Higgins
Amy Johnston
Thomas Jordan
Ian Khoo
Hallie Nisbet
Matthew Palos
Amy-Grace Read
Andrew Rozak
Lauren Shea
Griffin Sigrist
Pedro Tose
Christian White
Class of 2023
Brady Abbott
Luke Arnpriester
Katherine Ball
Liam Barbosa
Sophia Barresi
Isabelle Basso
Gabrielle Beyzerov
Hannah Blenkhorn
Annie Bomfim
Amelia Bonarrigo
Anneliese Boujnane
Isabella Buenrrostro
Reagan Chiplock
Charles Core
Noah Der Garabedian
Charles Dolan
Johannah Dolan
Julia Evers
Kathryn Fanelli
Samantha Fleming
Julia Francis
Luke Frauton
Kathryn Gage
Olivia Gallerani
Erin Goode
Jaeda Gorman
Connor Gray
Olivia Hansbury
Alise Higgins
Mia Hsieh
Mary Keating
Nora Kempner
Olivia Keniry
Zhiwen Liu
Sarah Longval
Haley MacLeod
Maeve McKean
Charles McKeown
Mark Murphy
Kelly Nicklas
Meredith O’Mara
Scott O’Shea
Destiny Ojukwu
Marco Perugini
Seeber Pierre-Louis
Isabel Pobudziej
Jack Reynolds
Colin Roberts
Charles Ross
Ryan Shaughnessy
Lile Simmons
Nora Sullivan
Rebecca Tarbox
Chloe Tegelaar
Erin Weafer
Olivia Webb
Megan Yuen
Ryan Zambrowski